Makerspace activities

Makerspace is creative and hands-on with fun science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics (STEAM) projects!

Virtual Makerspace Sessions

Testing Boat Hulls
(Wednesday 20 May 2020)


Boat hull templates:
Square hull | Rounded Hull | V- shaped/Pointed Hull

Box Catapault
(Wednesday 27 May 2020)

Ewok Catapault
(Wednesday 3 June 2020)

Wind Meter - Anemometer
(Wednesday 10 June 2020)

Wrecking Ball
(Wednesday 17 June 2020)

Templates: Protractor | Ten Pin Bowling Set Up

Dough Erupting Volcano
(Wednesday 24 June 2020)

Vinegar Rocket
(Tuesday 18 August 2020)

Tumbling Toy
(Thursday 20 August 2020)

Paper Planes
(Tuesday 25 August 2020)

Experiments with Liquids
(Thursday 27 August 2020)

Material world experiments
(Tuesday 1 September 2020)

More experiments using liquids
(Thursday 3 September 2020)

More science experiments
(Tuesday 8 September 2020)

Testing sound
(Thursday 10 September 2020)

Cool science
(Tuesday 15 September 2020)

Cool science
(Thursday 17 September 2020)

Building bridges
(Tuesday 22 September 2020)

Cardboard tube activities
(Thursday 24 September 2020)

STEAM Activities (during lockdown)

Phases of the moon:
Download the template here. If you wish to share your activity please email it to us.

Science fun - blow up a balloon:
Please ensure you have adult supervision.

Testing the capacity of foil boats:

Marble maze activity (ideas):

Marble maze activity (examples):

Testing the strength of paper:

Walking/rocking horse:

LEGO Spinning Tops:

Magic Milk and Dancing Raisins:

LEGO Racing Car:

LEGO Paper Crimping Machine:

Maths Fortune Teller:

LEGO Gravity Roller:

LEGO Catapault:

Rainbow spinning wheel:
Download the spinning wheel template here.

Acid Base Indicators:

LEGO Windmill:

Lemon Erupting Volcano:

Lego Technic Slingshot:

Paperclip Helicopters:

Rainbow liquid tower:

Origami Dog:

Double-Helix DNA Model:

Musical Pipes:

Challenge activities

T puzzle (challenge):
Download the T puzzle template here.

T puzzle (solution):

Cross and L puzzle (challenge):

Cross and L puzzle (solution):

Coin puzzles (challenge):

Coin puzzles (solution):

Box and square puzzles (challenge):

Box and square puzzles (solution):

Card puzzles (challenge):

Card puzzles (solution):

Coin puzzles (challenge):

Coin puzzles (solution):

Just another Pyramid: Download PDF here. Solution: Click here.

Pony Express Challenge: Download PDF here.

Worksheets

Geometry scavenger hunt: Download PDF here.

Maths scavenger hunt: Download PDF here.

Graph paper for 3D Illusion: Download PDF here.

Helicopter template: Download PDF here.

Mobile Phone template: Download PDF here.